Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
25 user(s) are online (17 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 25

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 3 »


OS4 and home network
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/13 9:47
Posts: 452
Hi,

How do I connect my SAM440ep with OS4.1 to my home network?

I mean how can I, for example, tell it to look at the contents of my Stora NAS?

In Windows I'd do:

\\stora

How about OS4.1?

Also, for some reason, RDesktopGUI says:

ERROR: windowsbox: unable to resolve host

And finally where is the ping command?

Thank you!

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/11/21 17:18
Posts: 316
Quote:
I mean how can I, for example, tell it to look at the contents of my Stora NAS? In Windows I'd do: \\stora

Depends, if your NAS is SAMBA compatible you could install Samba on your AmigaOS. Window Shares (therefore a shared folder) can be acessed via Samba, however (up to Windows XP).

Quote:
Also, for some reason, RDesktopGUI says: ERROR: windowsbox: unable to resolve host


well, donnot know about this, but I always use static IPs, when Amiga is involved in a Network. Make sure
- that you use IP Adress of your windowsbox as host
- that remotedesktop connections are allowed from Windows side (but I think that's not your problem...)

Think "ping" command was in SDK, or was there one in Genesis or some other TCP Stack ?

I am not a network expert, so this is just what I would try first/what I did on my machine.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 517
'ping' is Roadshow standard, and most likely is found in c: (default).

'which' is even more useful.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/13 9:47
Posts: 452
Thanks,

I managed to find ping...

typed ping www.bbc.co.uk in Shell and there it was pinging the bbc website

I think the Netgear Stora supports Samba so all I have to do is install Samba on the Amiga?

All I want to do is dump stuff on this NAS from my OS4.1 Sam440ep




   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2482
@TheDaddy

Mikey_C's great Samba installation guide

I have connected my AOneXE to my Network through Samba and it works great (once all the little humps are ironed out) and can access (read/write) my NAS.
I have all of my Multimedia stuff sitting there, so more room for programs on the miggy

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/13 9:47
Posts: 452
Excellent! Thank you very much!

Are those the latest Samba files? If not where do I get the latest ones? Thanks.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/26 17:45
Posts: 239

Samba is a SMB server. You cannot connect to another server with a server application. You need a SMB client to connect to your NAS. SMB clients for AmigaOS are for example SMB-Connect or SMBFS. The latter exists OS4-native.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/13 9:47
Posts: 452
SMBFS is a SAMBA cliente native for OS4? So does it come with OS4 or do I have to download it and install it? Thanks.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 517

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 902
Quote:I recommend for ease of use also SMBMounter.

Note that writing through SMBFS (i.e. writing files to the NAS) is very slow with our current SMBFS port. I find it useful mostly for smaller/few files.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/3/10 10:51
From Germany
Posts: 579
Quote:

nbache wrote:
Quote:I recommend for ease of use also SMBMounter.

Note that writing through SMBFS (i.e. writing files to the NAS) is very slow with our current SMBFS port. I find it useful mostly for smaller/few files.

Best regards,

Niels

Please do not use the SMBFS from OS4Depot, but this one: http://amiga-smbfs.sourceforge.net/

(Maybe someone could make an upload of the newer version?)

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2482
@cha05e90

Oh yes, thanks for reminding me, i do have the latest version 1.74 from there

@nbache

The speed is ok with this version especially if one works with LAN...beats the speed of writing to USB

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
Posts: 2815
If your NAS supports FTP, then you can use FTPMount. (Might be faster at writing?)

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1 on my A1-X1000 & Sam440
Don't forget the official support forum for OS4!
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Quite a regular
Joined:
2010/5/16 11:20
From Grimsby, UK
Posts: 914
All these newer amiga projects that exist on Sourceforge should all be transferred to OS4Depot regardless of who was the original 'submitter'. As long as the original submitter did not use a passphrase you should just be able to 'Replace' the current submission. Otherwise I'd speak to Origin, better having a 2009 version than a 2005 version surely its logical.

Here is a list, smbfs not on it so must be more somewhere:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/amiga/files/

Needs replacing (going by datestamp only), got bored at 2007, and couldn't understand the stupid american datestamps ;p

Normalize
vorbistools
OptiPNG
shorten
smbfs ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/amiga-smbfs/files/amiga-smbfs/ )

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 902
Quote:

Raziel wrote:
@cha05e90

Oh yes, thanks for reminding me, i do have the latest version 1.74 from there

@nbache

The speed is ok with this version especially if one works with LAN...beats the speed of writing to USB
Well, I also use 1.74, and I definitely do not agree that the writing speed is okay. An USB 2.0 stick is a much faster way for me to move e.g. digicam pictures from my Amiga to my wife's PC. Then if we want them on the NAS, we can write them from there.

I just made a test to make sure I wasn't blowing hot air here:

I copied a directory containing 62 scaled-down digicam JPGs with a total size of 14776837 bytes. First using SMBFS 1.74 to my NAS, this took 9 minutes 33 seconds. Then to a USB stick connected via a hub to my USB2.0 PCI card, this took 10 seconds. QED.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2482
@nbache

True, i forgot to mention that i use USB1.1

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 902
Ah. Yes, that is a completely different performance to compare to, then.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2482
@nbache

To add the last bit of information i was missing :-/

I too was using a PC to transfer many of the files to the NAS (i actually plugged in the HD from the NAS to the PC to do the transfer, but that was before upd3.
upd2 and below kept corrupting my files on the copy process.

Now i can copy pretty quickly to/from the NAS (i really need to do a benchmark over the network )

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 254
So far I have not managed to get samba working with lacie network drive. But who cares (it's sluggish anyway), FTP seems to work.
For quick test ftp://ipadressofthedrive should work.

Then downloaded pftp from the depot ...

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4 and home network
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/13 9:47
Posts: 452
I am getting confused now...

So what is the best way for my SAM440 with OS4.1 update 3 to see (use) the NAS? LOL!

Could someone give me a practical example?

Oh by the way...I am now running OS4.1update3 anything else that needs to go on to be up to date?

Thanks!




   Report Go to top


(1) 2 3 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project