Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
13 user(s) are online (8 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 13

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6)


Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 135
I dont know : you should better ask directly hans de ruiter or post the changelog
Perhaps a problem related to bus bandwidth or vertices format too big?

Alain Thellier

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 88
@thellier

Hans made a comment on things that were improved.

http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=7435#95387

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@ddni
Quote:
What was making Cow3d seem so slow on X1000 before the recent upgrade?

It mostly comes down to how fast the vertices can be copied to the graphics card. Without GART (DMA) this is done by the CPU writing directly into VRAM. The 1.8 driver was writing 32-bits at a time, and PCIe is pretty inefficient when transferring such small amounts at a time (and is very fast when transferring large chunks).

Why the difference in performance? I'm guessing that the A1-X1000's PCIe controller simply does what it's told, whereas the Sam460 and X5000's controllers are smart enough to be able to combine multiple small writes into bigger packets under certain circumstances. The X5000 has a Freescale CPU and I've been told that they know how to make good memory and I/O controllers...

The latest driver uses altivec on the A1-X1000 to force larger transfers, thereby significantly speeding up how fast vertices are copied to the GPU.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/1/20 10:21
From Asturies-Spain
Posts: 8
@Fernecho
Hola Fernecho
I want to buy for my X1000 the RADEON HD 7950 With BOOST 3GB GDDR5
Fits correctly this double slot cards in the Fractal design Amigaone X1000 tower?

Regards
José Manuel



   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/3/6 18:09
From Ourense - Galicia ( Spain )
Posts: 85
@AlicePPC

hola amigo,

If it fits perfectly on the first slot near the memory.

I'm having trouble with some games, SuperTuxKart, Frogatto and quake2, i get a black screen and a reset, in Frogato a Grim Reaper, I read in Amiga-NG, a French site, it takes to have the pak, pak0.pak, pak1.pak and pak2.pak, I have only the pak0.pak of Quake2 Original CD PC version.

I tried reinstalling the AmigaOS on a partition, formatted and empty, with the Radeon HD 7950 installed on the computer to recognize her from the beginning, I installed the latest drivers, RadeonHD Driver v2.10 and also the Warp3D SI v.14, MiniGL 2.20 and I do not get to run the games, Cow3D now I get 173-175 fps.

Well I hope I've been helpful, I hope you have better luck.

Greetings.
Lisardo Rodriguez Lopez


Edited by Fernecho on 2015/6/19 17:49:59
_________________
AmigaONE X1000 First Contact
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/3/6 18:09
From Ourense - Galicia ( Spain )
Posts: 85

_________________
AmigaONE X1000 First Contact
   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6)



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project