Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
24 user(s) are online (8 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 24

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 12 »


Re: OS4.1 bugs
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 2862
@Cyborg

In time for what?

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 629
@Chris

Never you mind

_________________
cheers
tony
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/22 10:43
From Germany
Posts: 172
@Chris

Quote:

Chris wrote:
@Cyborg

In time for what?


Oh please no more conspiracy theories I just meant hopefully "in time" for the next public update (whatever and whenever that will be) .. this bug is really old enough already.

_________________
AmigaOS 4 core developer
www.os4welt.de - Die deutsche AmigaOS 4 Gemeinschaft

"In the beginning was CAOS.."
-- Andy Finkel, 1988 (ViewPort article, Oct. 1993)
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 2862
@Cyborg

True - I flagged it up after the inital pre-release.


I found another one (easily fixed by the user): the script bits aren't set for the scripts in S:Shell.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 629
@Chris:

True, I'll report that one.

@Raziel:
Pleased to say the window title length bug is fixed (not by me). I've checked it up to 200 chars long, works OK.

Should be included in the next release, whenever that will be.

_________________
cheers
tony
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2482
@tonyw

Thanks so much to you and the one who fixed it ... awesome feedback!!!

(Can/Could you share the reason why it was there? I'm just so curious, you know)

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 629
@Raziel

I didn't ask, but I'd guess that it was an accidental side effect of some other change and no one had noticed that a long title string didn't work any more. The actual change was some time ago.

Unfortunately, that's one of the effects of having a group of betatesters rather than a formal battery of tests. We have to hope that everything testable is tested by someone, somewhere, on some hardware and with some installation. It doesn't always happen.

_________________
cheers
tony
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2482
@tonyw

Quote:

tonyw wrote:
@Raziel

I didn't ask, but I'd guess that it was an accidental side effect of some other change and no one had noticed that a long title string didn't work any more. The actual change was some time ago.


Thank you

Quote:

Unfortunately, that's one of the effects of having a group of betatesters rather than a formal battery of tests. We have to hope that everything testable is tested by someone, somewhere, on some hardware and with some installation. It doesn't always happen.


Well, thats what you have the community for.
There will always be some nutties (ME!!!) trying stuff other than normal day's work

It's absolutely fabulous that we as a community can give feedback and actually be able to see changes happen, bugs squashed and features taken care of.

Thanks to you and all of the devs for being so responseful, it's just great to be part of it

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2422
@Cyborg

Quote:

Cyborg wrote:
@Chris

Quote:

Chris wrote:
Hmm, I see the old pattern-matching bug is still present. I will continue to mention this until it finally gets fixed.

5.RAM Disk:> dir files
ABAB ABBA
5.RAM Disk:> dir #(AB|BA)
5.RAM Disk:>


Hm... I remember investigating that ages ago and even started to work on it.. Or at least it was on my todo list. I'll recheck with Colin to get this finally fixed, hopefully in time.


Chris is doing it wrong!

dir #?(AB|BA)

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 14:35
From Nantes, France
Posts: 863
@LiveForIt

No what Chris is trying to write is something that translate fro mthe english : any number of occurence of either AB either BA. This should match AB, BA, ABAB, BABA, ABBA, BAAB, etc.
If you prefer a way to represent this regex (if you understand them) :
(AB|BA)*

What you are asking with #?(AB|BA) is to match everything ending with either AB, either BA.

_________________
Back to a quiet home... At last
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/7/28 8:06
Posts: 46
Hello,

I've got a uA1c with 256MB RAM running OS4.1 for AmigaOne.
1280x720, 16-bits.

I can confirm there is a bug in the Compositing Engine
on uA1c's, at least on mine .


Strange graphic problem - 'Noise' with
Composition Engine enabled
---------------------------------------

If I enable the Composition Effects in the GUI Prefs, I
sometimes get small pixel errors, it's hard to describe
it, it's not trashed pixels. More like "noise". It can
move to different parts of the screen. And then it's gone.
It's just a few pixels each time.

Has anybody else noticed this problem? What the h*ll
could it be? I've checked the cabling, and it's
no problem.

If I switch CE off in the 'GUI' prefs, I don't get
this problem.


Drag&Drop in Workbench doesn't work with Composition ENgine
---------------------------------------------------------

I can confirm this, D&D will NOT work with the
Composition Engine, the D&D aborts very rapidly.
If I switch off the Comp. Eng., D&D works
perfectly.

ALSO, but I'm not 100% sure, the Mouse wheel
will stop working in some applications.


Thanks,
Regards,
KOtler

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2422
@abalaban

Quote:

abalaban wrote:
@LiveForIt

No what Chris is trying to write is something that translate fro mthe english : any number of occurence of either AB either BA. This should match AB, BA, ABAB, BABA, ABBA, BAAB, etc.
If you prefer a way to represent this regex (if you understand them) :
(AB|BA)*

What you are asking with #?(AB|BA) is to match everything ending with either AB, either BA.


so Chris is tring to do:

dir #?(AB|BA)#?

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 2862
@LiveForIt

No, that would match things like XABQ. I'm trying to do exactly what I typed and abalaban has described. Try it on AmigaOS prior to OS4 and you'll see it working as it should.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 902
@Kotler

Quote:

Kotler wrote:

[...]

Drag&Drop in Workbench doesn't work with Composition ENgine
---------------------------------------------------------

I can confirm this, D&D will NOT work with the
Composition Engine, the D&D aborts very rapidly.
If I switch off the Comp. Eng., D&D works
perfectly.

This has been discussed before (hmm, maybe not here, but at least over there). Something is locking (updating) the WB screen at regular intervals for too long each time, causing the D&D operation to time out and terminate. In my case it was DOpus 4, iconified to the little title bar with the clock, showing seconds. When I changed DOpus to iconify to a "real" appicon instead and found another way to have an onscreen time display (LimpidClock), the problem was gone.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 902
@Chris

Quote:

Chris wrote:
@LiveForIt

No, that would match things like XABQ. I'm trying to do exactly what I typed and abalaban has described. Try it on AmigaOS prior to OS4 and you'll see it working as it should.

Also, LiveForIt, try reading up on the weird and wonderful world of AmigaOS pattern matching. In daily use, many tend to just use the "#?" combination as if it was exactly equivalent to the "*" on other platforms and just a more long-winded way of writing it. This is only a small part of the story.

The "#" means something like "zero or more occurrences of the following element", and the "?" means "exactly one arbitrary character". Therefore, the often used combination, "#?", means "zero or more occurrences of exactly one arbitrary character", or more simply put, "nothing or anything" -- which also just happens to be what the "*" means in other OSes.

Back to "#(AB|BA)": This means "zero or more occurrences of the element (AB|BA)". This is one element because of the parenthesis, and the meaning of the element of course is either "AB" or "BA". So the whole pattern should match any number (zero or more) of consecutive character pairs, where each of them is either "AB" or "BA".

Any clearer now?


Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/7/28 8:06
Posts: 46
@nbache


>This has been discussed before (hmm, maybe not here, but >at least over there). Something is locking (updating) the >WB screen at regular intervals for too long each time, >causing the D&D operation to time out and terminate. In my >case it was DOpus 4, iconified to the little title bar >with the clock, showing seconds. When I changed DOpus to >iconify to a "real" appicon instead and found another way >to have an onscreen time display (LimpidClock), the >problem was gone.

Niels,

Yes, I've read this discussion, also.

But, in this case, I've booted from a clean
installation of WB4.1. Running no special
programs at all, I removed all programs
in WBStartup folder.

I still get the above mentioned behaviour
when I try a simple copy operation by D&D'ing
a file from RAM: to my SYS: partition.

This is why I'm lead to believe it's the
Composition effects that's the culprit,
because as soon as I switch them off (Comp. effects),
D&D will start working perfect.

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2422
@Hyperion

I get crash, when I put a copy command in startup-sequence.

; $VER: Startup-Sequence 52.6 (28.07.2007)
C:SetPatch QUIET

FailAt 21

C:Version >NIL:
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards

C:Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
C:Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
C:Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:KeyMaps
C:Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
C:Assign >NIL: REXX: S:ARexx
C:Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER
C:Assign >NIL: AMISSL: DEVS:AmiSSL DEFER
C:Assign >NIL: GHOSTSCRIPT: SYS:Utilities/GhostScript DEFER
C:Assign >NIL: PYTHON: SYS:System/Python

C:LoadMonDrvs
C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
C:IPrefs

; This line triggers a DSI error!!!!
copy >nil: envarc:sys/#?.prefs env:sys/ all

C:USBCtrl START
C:Mount QUIET DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)
C:AddNetInterface QUIET DEVS:NetInterfaces/~(#?.info)

Path RAM: C: S:Shell S:ARexx SYS:Utilities SYS:Utilities/Commodities SYS:System SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup

C:ConClip
SYS:System/RexxMast >NIL:

If EXISTS S:User-Startup
Execute S:User-Startup
EndIf

C:LoadWB

Run >NIL: *>NIL: C:SoundPlayer QUIET

EndCLI >NIL:



http://crashlog.os4depot.net/index.php?function=view&crashlogid=98

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1021
@LiveForIt

Quote:
; This line triggers a DSI error!!!!
copy >nil: envarc:sys/#?.prefs env:sys/ all
Did you remove Kickstart/env-handler.kmod from your Kicklayout (if yes: why?), or why do you want to do something manually env-handler does automatically, and only when required?

   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2422
@joerg

I just like to refresh prefs, there was magic program that did some cool stuff, I debugged it found the copy command to causing the problem.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: OS4.1 bugs
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2422
@joerg

Quote:
Did you remove Kickstart/env-handler.kmod


No not until now, if you remove "env-handler.komd" then system will not boot, its needed, you can't remove it I tried and it was no fun!

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top


« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 12 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project