Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
41 user(s) are online (14 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 41

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Automatic Window Update
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/26 17:07
From Sherborne, UK
Posts: 7
Would it be possible for automatic window updating to be enabled when window contents are updated from another process in Workbench?

For example:
If I extract an archive to RAM: using Unarc and the RAM Disk window is open already, the contents are not automatically refreshed unless I do it manually from the Workbench menu. This is a bit of a nuisance.

I believe that the ability to implement this is now available in OS4.1 so could an option to enable this be made available through Workbench prefs so it could be turned on or off depending on user preference?

Please, please, please!

Thanks in advance.

_________________
AmigaOne XE-G4, 512MB RAM (OS4.1)
Radeon 9250, Terratec Aureon 5.1
CDRW, DVDRW, SII0680
   Report Go to top

Re: Automatic Window Update
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/23 13:49
From Finland, the land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki
Posts: 982
@Matt

Install AutoUpdateWB commodity.

Edit: I read user comments from os4depot and it looks like some people have problems with this commodity and AOS4.1. Can anybody confirm ?

Unfortunately using WBCtrl tool to enable similar functionality in WB hasn't worked too well ever (I mean the similar functionality in WB which is disabled by default.)

_________________
Extremely happy X1000 user. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." - Seymour Cray
AmigaOne X1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Automatic Window Update
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2422
@Matt

I think JXFS does it.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Automatic Window Update
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/26 17:07
From Sherborne, UK
Posts: 7
@TSK

Isn't that commodity just a hack? I understand the ability to auto update window contents is a more recent implementation and the files you link to are several years old, way before 4.1 came to be.

_________________
AmigaOne XE-G4, 512MB RAM (OS4.1)
Radeon 9250, Terratec Aureon 5.1
CDRW, DVDRW, SII0680
   Report Go to top

Re: Automatic Window Update
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/23 13:49
From Finland, the land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki
Posts: 982
@Matt

I have used AutoUpdateWB all the time with AOS4.0 and 4.1. I haven't heard of anything else. ?????

@LiveForIt
Quote:
I think JXFS does it.

Is this true ? I think I made some tests after installing 4.1 and didn't find any such functionality.

_________________
Extremely happy X1000 user. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." - Seymour Cray
AmigaOne X1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Automatic Window Update
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 2862
I've had AutoUpdateWB installed pretty much since day 1 (and previously, under WB3.5 too IIRC). Occasionally under OS4.1 the window contents don't update, but this seems very rare.

This functionality still doesn't appear to be present without AutoUpdateWB.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project