Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
26 user(s) are online (15 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 26

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 2 3 (4) 5 »


Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/22 17:57
From Italy, Rome
Posts: 205
The Radeon 8xxx-9xxx seems to rule them all

_________________
Retired
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@AmigaBlitter

Quote:
The Radeon 8xxx-9xxx seems to rule them all.


Well, it is the best card series that supports 3D, and there should be a lot of older A1 and Sam440 machines out there. Maybe I should have asked how many people plan to upgrade when 3D drivers for RadeonHD cards are available.

EDIT: The numbers look different if you group the cards. Radeon HD cards collectively account for 45% of all cards, while 40% are old Radeon 7xxx-9xxx cards. I'm keeping Radeon X1xxx cards separate despite the RadeonHD.chip driver supporting them, as they are very different (more like the Radeon 9xxx than HD cards).

Hans


Edited by Hans on 2014/5/25 21:52:02
_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/12/20 13:58
Posts: 182
@Hans
Yes is looks like quite an even split between users such as myself running OS4 still using older hardware like (in my case a sam440ep with onboard M9) and more modern OS4 systems with PCIe graphics cards.

Which is reassuring as although the numbers are low it show people are still investing in my systems and upgrades for existing ones.

I myself have no plans to purchase a new highend system such as an x1000 or the like as its just too expensive for me, but will probably upgrade to a newer PCIe based sam460 in the future.

_________________
Sam440ep 667mhz 512megs OS4.1 + Minimig, 4MB RAM, ARM add-on board
WinUae 2.3.2, OS 3.9, BB2, Catweasel MkIV
Amiga 1200, BlizzardPPC 060/200 with SCSI, mediatorSX, Voodoo3, pci lan
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 22:55
From Vantaa,Finland
Posts: 22
@Hans

Radeon HD 6570 on X1000

Marko

   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 3:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 704
I can see the poll, but I can't vote. Perhaps I already voted, but I don't remember doing so.

Edit: http://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum ... t_id=90996#forumpost90996 (What's wrong with me? :-/ I barely remember doing that)

   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/5/31 5:03
From New Zealand
Posts: 1
Have a Pegasos II so stuck with older PCI cards, would love the 9800pro to get some love


   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2416
@Hans
What's the difference between radeonhd 7000 series and radeon r9 290? Seems to be almost all gfx carfs for sale are radeon rx xxx, instead of radeonhd 7xxx.

_________________
Sam460 Lite
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@Antique

Quote:
@Hans
What's the difference between radeonhd 7000 series and radeon r9 290? Seems to be almost all gfx carfs for sale are radeon rx xxx, instead of radeonhd 7xxx.

They're one of the next generation of cards after the Radeon HD 7xxx/8xxx series.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2416
@Hans

Plans to support those cards aswell?
Do you know if those cards have got any support in gallium yet?

_________________
Sam460 Lite
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 254
almost related:

I wonder if Ultra Varisys has some contacts from military arena where there could be partner for Radeon driver developments for PPC.
http://wwwd.amd.com/catalog/salescat. ... bd4005ac776?OpenDocument#

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/18 10:33
From Flinders NSW Australia
Posts: 772
can we use cards out of macs ?

_________________
Amiga is the heart and soul of computing nothing else comes close
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@Antique

Quote:
Plans to support those cards aswell?
Do you know if those cards have got any support in gallium yet?


Obviously, we're going to have to support newer generations at some point when the currently supported ones are no longer available. I'm hoping that the supply of older cards won't dry up too soon, though.

No idea regarding their Gallium support.

@poweramiga

Quote:
can we use cards out of macs ?

I don't know. Graphics cards for Mac used to have different firmware from cards for PCs, which meant that they only worked in Macs. I have no idea if this is still true.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/14 2:18
Posts: 126
@Hans

This is true, PC BIOS and OpenFirmware for MacOS,

I used to have a pair of Matrox cards that only differed in the firmware

   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/3/16 11:27
Posts: 139
One big question to Hans:

Does the RadeonHD-Driver support Duallink over DVI-Out on my RadeonHD6570 in order to Support:

- High Resolutions above FULLHD (> 1920 x 1080).

- High Refresh rates, there are LCD´s out there who can Display up to 120Hz.

A friend of me will borrow me his 22" with 120Hz for a couple of days to test if the RadeonHD driver can meet the above mentioned requirements.

Specially the 100Hz-Mode is interesting while running E-UAE with 50Hz PAL-Games (assuming that games triggers a 50fps output like Turrican..etc). That should be a very smooth experience, because 50fps fits exactly to 100Hz (showing a frame twice). In 60Hz on normal TFT-Displays you see on games which use 50Hz scrolling that theres hops between 50Hz output of the Emulator and the 60Hz of the Monitor, its not that smooth that it could be

And in normal Workbench use all commands that require dragging of Windows, Screens, Mousepointer will maybe benefit from it in terms of smoothness. And of course Games that can provide stable 120Hz+.


Edited by fingus on 2014/6/5 10:01:46
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 254
@hans

Also I want to ask something.

Is the dual head support being worked on or is it way down in priority list?


Perhaps graphics driver development priority list could be released by ssolie? (with rough status even...)

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@fingus

Quote:
Does the RadeonHD-Driver support Duallink over DVI-Out on my RadeonHD6570 in order to Support:

It should do, although I have never been able to test it properly (my monitor is single-link).

The closest that I have come to testing, is to plug a monitor in to VGA and DVI simultaneously. Picasso96 took the timing data from the VGA port, which tipped the clock frequency over the threshold for dual-link. As a result, my DVI monitor (which isn't dual-link capable) lost half of the horizontal pixels. While that indicates that dual link is working, it's not the same as seeing it on a dual-link monitor.

@KimmoK
Quote:
Is the dual head support being worked on or is it way down in priority list?


That depends on what you mean by "dual head" support. Right now, if you plug in multiple monitors (at boot time), then the display will be output to all monitors. So "multiple head" is supported in "display clone" mode.

If you're talking about displaying different images on different monitors and/or stretching workbench over multiple displays, then no, that's not being worked on right now. 3D support really is (and should be) the top priority as far as graphics is concerned.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 902
I am using a Dell 30" (U3011) with 2560×1600@50Hz with my RadeonHD 5450 in the X1000, and have done so for a year and a half now. It works fine. I am even using it via a DVI DL capable KVM (ATEN CS 1784A).

So yes, DVI DL works.

I haven't tried using higher refresh rates.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 254
@Hans

>If you're talking about displaying different images on different monitors and/or stretching workbench over multiple displays,

Yes.

> then no, that's not being worked on right now. 3D support really is (and should be) the top priority as far as graphics is concerned.

OK, very understandable.
As there is anyway the option to use two cards to get dual monitor output, the need is not mandatory.

Thank you for the answer.

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/8 13:37
Posts: 40
>@nbache
>I am using a Dell 30" (U3011) with 2560×1600@50Hz with my >RadeonHD 5450 in the X1000, and have done so for a year >and a half now. It works fine. I am even using it via >a .DVI DL capable KVM (ATEN CS 1784A).
>
>So yes, DVI DL works.
>
>I haven't tried using higher refresh rates.
>
>Best regards,
>
>Niels


I tested a Dell 27 inch with 2560x1440 which is working flawlessly in my office on my SamFlex 460EX with Radeon 6450 card. With a standard DVI cable if I´m correct.

Only the new generation 4K monitors is much more interesting, and costs not a lot more then this Dell 27
inch. But using the highest resolution could be problematic on the Amiga.




   Report Go to top

Re: POLL: What graphics card(s) do you currently use on AmigaOS 4.x?
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/3/16 11:27
Posts: 139
@benny

Quote:

Only the new generation 4K monitors is much more interesting, and costs not a lot more then this Dell 27
inch. But using the highest resolution could be problematic on the Amiga.


I don´t think so. It´s a matter of bandwidth provided by the graphic-card and the higher RadeonHD-Modells should handle that.

You can have then 40pt Fonts for Icons with a nice rounded Shape!

   Report Go to top


« 1 2 3 (4) 5 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project