Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
29 user(s) are online (10 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 29

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 2 3 4 (5) 6 »


Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
Just fired up OpenJK. My character seems to be wearing psychedelic pyjamas!

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2013/10/17 15:21
From Hungary
Posts: 383
Never mind, I just checked ioUrbanTerror, and it works for me in 32-bit mode. It must be something different.

_________________
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@ddni

Quote:
Just fired up OpenJK. My character seems to be wearing psychedelic pyjamas!

Please use version 1.8 of the driver (download the driver again). Version 1.9 was supposed to go to beta testers only.

Hans


_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
@Hans
Going to 1.8 made no difference.
Changing texture detail in OpenJK from medium to high fixed the pyjamas.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
@bszili

What is the latest version of openjk?
I am using one from may 2014.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 0:37
From Wellington
Posts: 287
@Breed

Just tried the new Wap3D-SI with RadeonHD v2.10 on my X1000 with HD7750 (passively cooled)

Cow3D

160-162 fps
171-175 fps (when 'b' pressed)

Not that I'm really into benchmarks.

TrevorD

_________________
AmigaOne X1000 betatester
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
Wrong thread

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/6/17 14:04
From Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)
Posts: 210
@amigakit

Quote:
On my AmigaONE X5000 with Warp3D Southern Islands, XFX RadeonHD 7770 and debug kernel I get between 220 - 227 FPS on Cow3D.

Once I press 'b' it reports 236 FPS (5813tris 2914points)

i'm getting between 272 and 278 fps on Cow3D with the latest drivers and debug kernel on my X5K this morning. the card used is a passive 7750. nicely done, hans!

-- eliyahu

_________________
Check out the latest on next-generation Amiga computing at IntuitionBase.com!
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2013/10/17 15:21
From Hungary
Posts: 383
@ddni
That's probably the latest one. Both my website and os4depot has it.

_________________
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 135
Hello all

If you are tired of using my infamous Cow3D then you can also use/test my Microbe3D/demo-view-ppc with some of the animated babes joined in the package ;-P
https://www.youtube.com/user/wazp3d

http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/Microbe3D

Alain Thellier

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/3/6 18:09
From Ourense - Galicia ( Spain )
Posts: 85
Cow3D

160-165 fps

AmigaONE X1000 - Radeon HD 7950 and the last drivres.

_________________
AmigaONE X1000 First Contact
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 254
So, in Cow3D
Sam460+HD7750 146fps (PCIe v2 x4)
X1000 +HD7750 175fps (PCIe v1 x16)
x5000 +HD7750 278fps (PCIe v2 x8)

@eliyahu

xkernel on X5000 or vanilla exec with debug?


Edited by KimmoK on 2015/6/17 10:52:52
Edited by KimmoK on 2015/6/17 11:16:55
_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 16:55
Posts: 224
@KimmoK

Quote:
So, in Cow3D Sam460+HD7750 146fps (PCIe v2 x4)
X1000 +HD7750 175fps (PCIe v1 x16)
x5000 +HD7750 278fps (PCIe v2 x8)

@eliyahu xkernel on X5000 or vanilla exec with debug?


I'm pretty sure that I read that only the xkernel is running on X5000.

I haven't seen ragemem results for the X5000 but I suspect that the video bus test results are much higher than the X1000. I'm not sure if the X1000 bus can be made to go faster by tweaking/updating the BIOS like with the Sam boards.

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 254
@Rob

I think on paper x1000 and x5000 should have same video bus speed.

X5000 + Cow3D is 1.5x faster than Cow3D on x1000.
X5000 MIPS rating is 1.5x higher than x1000. (per core)

So, to me it is because of the CPU. (unless the second core is used, but I think it can not be, as Cow3D + Warp3D are "legacy" SW...)

++
SAM460 results are superb good in cow3D, as it has 1/2 of the video bus speed and 2/3 of the performance of the PA6T core, but still it manages to perform 4/5 of x1000 speed.

(at the same time SAM460 reach about 1/2 of x5000 speed, more than MIPS would "hint")
+++

Now I realized that it could be that the SW is just better optimized for the core of a SAM460 by the compiler.

_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
Look at performance difference between X1000 and Sam460 in the new QuakeII HD from HunoPPC to see a real life comparison.

Sam460ex Radeon HD7750
1024x768
map demo1.dm2 : 18.1 FPS

X1000 Radeon R9 270
1280x1024
map demo1.dm2 : 59.1 FPS

~3.3x faster

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 88
@ddni

ioquake3= 2.39x faster . so depends on application.

X1000 Radeon R9 270X
demo four 1280x1024 max settings 74fps

Sam460ex Radeon HD7750
demo four 1280x1024 max settings 31fps


   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
@Spectre660

Yes everything depends on the application.
It is certainly inaccurate to look at the extremes and infer a difference.
What would be best is to look at a spread of applications, exclude the extremes and compare the mean.


_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/12/20 17:26
Posts: 254
I guess quake2 does more by the CPU than quake3. So quake2 might depend more on the CPU & bus.

And I imagine cow3D is far simpler for a CPU and quake gets more benefit from larger caches and faster memory.

I do not dare to suggests you to swap cards with SAM and x1000 + run same bench to see more .... ;)


_________________
- Kimmo
--------------------------PowerPC-Advantage------------------------
"PowerPC Operating Systems can use a microkernel architecture with all it�s advantages yet without the cost of slow context switches." - N. Blachford
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 135
@Kimmok
Yes Cow3D is extremely simple it almost not use the cpu (only to rotate the vertices) so you almost only benchmark the Warp3D-drawing-speed (and the graphic bus) with this program.

With Cow3D when you hit 'b' the full animation (the cow 360° turn) is bufferized so the cpu is no more used for the rotation
But for the faster cpus it dont make much differences anyway

Alain Thellier

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
@thellier

Thanks Alain.

What was making Cow3d seem so slow on X1000 before the recent upgrade?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top


« 1 2 3 4 (5) 6 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project