Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
9 user(s) are online (4 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 9

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 3 4 ... 6 »


Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1186
Hello,
I open this thread to post some feedbacks about the newest Warp3D for R7-R9 GFX cards.


Here are my tests of some Warp3D games, it could be nice to share our experiences, thank you by advance.


My setup :

* X1000
* R7-250X
* Radeon HD 2.7
* Warp3D for Radeon HD/Rx Southern Island 1.9
* MiniGL 2.20
* OS4 FE

(unfotunately, I am unable to have Warp3D working on 4.1.6 even by recopying FE Warp3D libs, except that it's stated in the Release.PDF what avoid to use it under 4.1.6 ?)


1) Cow3D : very fast and smooth (90-95 fps)

Resized Image


2) FreeSpace 1
Crash at startup on FE

It is very certainly a FE bug because it crashs even using Soft Renderer (it works under 4.1.6, soft renderer)


3) FreeSpace 2
Very fast and smooth, far better than on my R9250

Resized Image



4) Frogatto
Very fast and smooth, no more flickering and not displayed text like with WaZp3D.

Resized Image



5) StarTrek Elite Force Holomatch
Very fast and smooth but some artefacts but the game is very well playable

See the strange laser rectangular halo around the gun
Resized Image



6) Hurrican 1.0.7
Hurrican 1.0.7 is very good (1.0.9 doesn't work at all).

Resized Image



7) Sonic Robot Blast 2 and Sonic Robot Blast 2 Riders
Top !

Resized Image


8) prBoomGL, ShootSpirit
No problem.


9) Quake2
OK

Resized Image



10) SuperTuxKart
OK but not smooth, unplayable(like on my old Pegasos2 R9000Pro)

Resized Image


11) TORCS
Smooth even in 1920x1080, unbelievable !

Resized Image


12) Jedi Academy
100% CPU and GFX mem but very smooth even in 1024x768 (a lot more than on R9250)

Resized Image


Resized Image



Congratulations to Hans for this fantastic work !

It's unbelievable that it works very well in the first public release.

Thank you to you, Hans, AEon-AmigaKit and Warp3D betatesters !


Edited by zzd10h on 2015/4/3 16:21:35
Edited by zzd10h on 2015/4/3 16:37:31
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
Nice thread. Thanks.

Quake 2 OK? Does this mean fast or slow ;)

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1186
Yes, fast of course, otherwise I will had mentionned it

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 3846
@zzd10h
i think he ask about "OK" because for other you write "super fluid", "super fast", but with quake2 just "OK", which mean "OK, but not very fast" ?:)

Btw,
Quote:

5) StarTrek Elite Force Holomatch
Very fast and smooth but some artefacts but the game is very well playable


Is it the same on old radeons ? I mean those artefacts ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1186
@kas1e
StartTrek worked without corruption under x1000/R9250.
Of course, it was slower but not flickering around the laser when you fire for example.

I can't take a grab because i can't switch screen.

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 3846
@zzd10h
By corruption you mean flickering ? As far as i know from Hans's answers , "flickering" most of time happens because of disabled VSYNC. Is it enabled in that game ? (maybe disabled in options by default?)

Quote:

(unfotunately, I am unable to have Warp3D working on 4.1.6 even by recopying FE Warp3D libs, except that it's stated in the Release.PDF what avoid to use it under 4.1.6 ?)


I think the culput is the different graphics.libraries, as between 4.1.6 and FE there was a loooot of changes done (merging of rtg,p96 and co, fixes, improvements and stuff). But that just speculation of course.

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2482
@zzd10h

My setup :

* X1000
* HIS RadeonHD 7750 iSilence
* Radeon HD 2.7
* Warp3D for Radeon HD/Rx Southern Island 1.9
* MiniGL 2.20
* OS4 FE

1. Aquaria

Starts, but will crash in either the game intro, the intro when running the game or the game itself when skipping the intro

2. Equilibrio

Starts and works (Haven't played very far into the game though)
Does show a big black artifact in the games intro screen

3 UFOAI

Throws an error on initialization
Quote:

------- video initialization -------
Error: Unable to dynamically open GL lib : No dynamic GL support in video driver


As both of the games that don't work were done by AmigaSoft (i think?) i guess they need to be recompiled with the newest Warp3D, because they probably pulled some tricks to make it run properly back then which now causes the crashes (i assume)?

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2745
@zzd10h

A bit OT but maybe can be a usefull info, since the installation of the new MiniGL 2.20 (Sam440 + Radeon 9250) i got various slowdown in Frogatto.. before there were some graphics problems (in a couple of levels) but the game was always fast and smooth even at high resolutions, instead now graphics is perfect everywhere, but game is a lot slower ! ... i hope Hans can "workaround" this

Hurrican doesn't work anymore in current Final Edition .. as you said it might be related to WBRun, atleast hope so..

Aniway Guillaume beside this, to evaluate the real speed difference between your old and the new Warp3D drivers would be interesting if you can replicate the "classical" benchmark with IoQuake 3 (HunoPPC version if you have it)

Here graphical detail you should use:

Quote:
---------------------------------
GL extension ON
Video mode 640x480 or 800x600 or 1024x768 or 1280x1024
Color Depth 32bit
Fullscreen ON
Lighting Lightmap
Geometric Detail HIGH
Texture Detail Max Level
Texture Quality 32bit
Texture Filter Trilinear
---------------------------------


First try with your old Radeon 9200 card and report the results, then replicate them again using the newest Warp3D SI/RadeonHD 2.7

I'm very curious to see the numbers of FPS in game and the difference in between

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2745
@Hans

I have some reports about MiniGL 2.20 (on old Warp3D/R200 card), is it ok for you if i'll report my problems on the Hyperion forum, or do you prefer a new thread here ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 88
Sam460ex Radeon HD7750

Cow3D 114-119FPS

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1186
@Samo79
I will try to fin IoQuake 3 from HunoPPC and to test it later.
But for sure, I will not replug my R9250, I'm too lazy ;)

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2013/10/23 14:18
From Kuusamo, Finland
Posts: 53
Just bought and installed Radeon HD 7750, seems to work great!

My setup:

* X1000
* Radeon HD 7750
* Radeon HD 2.7
* Warp3D for Radeon HD/Rx Southern Island 1.9
* MiniGL 2.20
* OS4 FE


Cow3D: 95 FPS

_________________
\o/....X1000....\o/
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1186
@Breed

Strange, not the same card but X1000 too and same fps for Cow3D...

@Raziel
-Aquaria is no more available on Amigasoft server :(
-Equilibrio, black screen at startup too and works very fine.



13) Warp3D "The Vague" eMag from Kas1e
all effects are OK

Resized Image






Edited by zzd10h on 2015/4/2 21:15:45
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@samo79

Quote:

I have some reports about MiniGL 2.20 (on old Warp3D/R200 card), is it ok for you if i'll report my problems on the Hyperion forum, or do you prefer a new thread here ?


Please use the Hyperion forum.

However, I regret to say that I don't have time to work on MiniGL further. I had to create an updated version because the W3D_SI driver exposes a nasty memory trashing bug in version 2.5, and Karlos never managed to finish off the update that he was working on. Now I'm out of time.

I do hope that someone else will step up to maintain MiniGL. It's open-source, so anyone can look at the code (NOTE: The latest version is in karlos' branch; it hasn't been merged into the trunk yet).

Finally, about your Frogatto slow-down complaint; I'm afraid that this is the price of more accurate rendering. Frogatto's frame-rate would probably benefit from switching to smooth shading. Flat shading is known to be slow with old Radeons (due to how Warp3D implements it).

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@zzd10h

Quote:
(unfotunately, I am unable to have Warp3D working on 4.1.6 even by recopying FE Warp3D libs, except that it's stated in the Release.PDF what avoid to use it under 4.1.6 ?)

This surprises me. While I never tested it under 4.1.6, I see no reason why it wouldn't work. The RadeonHD_RM.resource was working just fine with older graphics.library versions.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1186
@Hans

I assure you, another french Warp3D betatester confirmed it.

Under 4.1.6, I tested many games, all fail to open a GL context.


   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1186
@zzd10h

13) ioQuake3 from HunoPPC

very fast 50,9 fps
(edit : tested on my i7...863 fps but we even don't need 51 fps to play )

Resized Image


Resized Image


   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/8/23 15:11
Posts: 121
@zzd10h

Thank you very much for testing and for your explanations. This is a very interesting thread.

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/4 21:53
From www.amigakit.com
Posts: 290

On my AmigaONE X5000 with Warp3D Southern Islands, XFX RadeonHD 7770 and debug kernel I get between 220 - 227 FPS on Cow3D.

Once I press 'b' it reports 236 FPS (5813tris 2914points)

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D SI : Tests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 88
Sam460ex + Radeon HD7750 reports 144 FPS once 'b' pressed .

   Report Go to top


(1) 2 3 4 ... 6 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project