Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
10 user(s) are online (8 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 10

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





HD shows as full when quick formated`(Solved)
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:02
From Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 44
Hi Guys,

I have a 160Gb HD of the following specs....

sii0680ide.device
PATA

I am trying to set it up and format it with Media Toolbox in OS4.0, I am using 512 block size, 5000 buffers and sfs\00. All goes fine setting it up until I try to format it, when I get the message that the drive is full (quick or normal format).

I can format it OK with FFS.

Any hints would be appreciated.

Ciao,
Trev Daley.


Edited by tldaley on 2007/12/31 6:09:28
_________________
AmigaOneXE G4/800Mhz * 512Mb Ram * Radeon 9200SE * AOS4.1.1
   Report Go to top

Re: HD shows as full when quick formated
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1021
@tldaley

Quote:

tldaley wrote:
Hi Guys,

I have a 160Gb HD of the following specs....

sii0680ide.device
PATA

I am trying to set it up and format it with Media Toolbox in OS4.0, I am using 512 block size, 5000 buffers and sfs\00. All goes fine setting it up until I try to format it, when I get the message that the drive is full (quick or normal format).
If you are using a single partition for the whole HD it's because the max. partition size supported by SFS is 128 GB.

   Report Go to top

Re: HD shows as full when quick formated
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:02
From Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 44
@joerg

Doh! I should have known that (now I feel stupid), that fixed the problem.

I guess that I just assumed that if it worked in FFS it would work in SFS, being a superior file system.

Oh well.

Many thanks,
Trev Daley.

_________________
AmigaOneXE G4/800Mhz * 512Mb Ram * Radeon 9200SE * AOS4.1.1
   Report Go to top

Re: HD shows as full when quick formated
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
Posts: 2815
@joerg
Are you sure? You might need to increase the block size to get larger partitions....

   Report Go to top

Re: HD shows as full when quick formated
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/8 18:02
From Germany
Posts: 389
@ChrisH

Have a look at the sfs-changelog...
Quote:

1.254 (4.3.2006)
- The limits mentioned in the 1.245 notes were wrong, sorry. The actual
partition size limit of SFS 1.x is 128 GB, no matter which blocksize
you are using. Changed the checks to the actual limits. You can
continue to use too large partitions, but you may get "disk full"
errors (instead of a trashed partition) even if there is still free
space on the partition.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project