Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
31 user(s) are online (15 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 31

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2003
Hi Folks

As some of you may be aware, I have an old SAM 440EP which has blown soundchips. So I installed an old Soundblaster Love 128 card on the only slot.

Generally this works well playing video's some games etc. However I find that on IOQuake 3 and Quake 3 executables, the sound stutters/echos/overlays when running the game.

AHI settings appear correct, would appreciate any help to get the sound issue resolved.

Many thanks

_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
Posts: 2815
@Mikey_C
If all else fails, I have a Creative PCI sound card (can't remember which model) that worked fine in my X1000 (well I didn't test Quake on it due to lack of 3D for Radeon HD), which you could test at the next ANT meeting to see if it makes any difference.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1 on my A1-X1000 & Sam440
Don't forget the official support forum for OS4!
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2003
@ChrisH

Thanks Chris, appreciated, lets hope someone has a solution though!

_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 23:51
From France
Posts: 326
On which partition/filesystem is it installed ?

   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2003
@Lio

Its on a "games" partition with SFS installed.

_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2422
@Mikey_C

Well, the internal graphic card in Sam440 is not the fastest, my guess is that the CPU is too busy handling 3d, the AI and so on, you should check if the CPU is maxed out there are some CPU monitoring tools around on some more correct then others.

As you need the PCI slot for the sound card I don't think there is lot you can do about it.
Even with a better graphic card, I think the Sam440 might be bit on the slow side.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 250
No problem with ioQuake here, with Sam Flex 800mhz and Radeon 9250

   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@utri007

Quote:
No problem with ioQuake here, with Sam Flex 800mhz and Radeon 9250


With what sound card? IIRC, SB-live cards like Mikey_C has are pretty bad with stuttering. Other cards have less/no problems.

Hans


Edited by Hans on 2014/8/12 9:17:50
_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2003
Bum! Hans, do you know how hard it is to find a 3.v card

_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 1617
@Mikey_C

No. I've never had to look for one.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
http://keasigmadelta.co.nz/ - more of my software.
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 1482
@Mikey_C

Quote:

Soundblaster Love 128


Is this the hippy version?

But serious which is it

sb128 ? or Sound Blaster Live?

sb128 whilst old and low quality do work. SB Lives do not work 100% under amigaos4 (dispite random annecdotal evidence from people who haven't had problems).

As to your stuttering, Quake3 on a SAM is optimistic in the extreme, are your sure it's just not running too slow?


_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 13:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 749
@Mikey_C

Hi Mikey,

Would a Terratec Aureon card be of interest to you?
It is a universal 3.3 and 5 v card.

Resized Image




_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 88
@Mikey_C

No so hard. Finding one that is supported is.
I got one of these but it did not work.
Did report my findings to Acube.
Would be a good option to support

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829270010

   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
Posts: 2815
@broadblues Quote:
As to your stuttering, Quake3 on a SAM is optimistic in the extreme, are your sure it's just not running too slow?

Quake 3 runs without stuttering on two other Sam440s, albeit using built-in sound chip. (We even tried copying my configuration files over, but for some strange reason that gave no sound at all!)

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1 on my A1-X1000 & Sam440
Don't forget the official support forum for OS4!
   Report Go to top

Re: The (IO)Quake 3 & SAM 440EP Sound problem strikes yet again...
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/6/29 14:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 88
@ChrisH

what about checking the uboot version and whether the pci update patch was ever applied.

http://www.acube-systems.biz/download ... mini_updater_20110215.zip

http://www.acube-systems.biz/common/file/pci-mini-update.lha

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2014 The XOOPS Project